Why didn't Engineers use bombs instead?

-Bloo-, Xenomorph, 10 years ago

I was reading TV Tropes' Headscratchers page for Prometheus and I saw this:

If the Engineers intended to wipe out humanity circa 2,000 years ago, why would they have gone to the trouble of engineering a sentient—if not sapient—biological weapon to do so, when they could have, say, simply resorted to orbital bombardment? After all, we've only had flight technology for roughly 100 years, and we've only had spaceflight technology for roughly 50 years. 2,000 years ago, the Engineers could have wiped Earth off the star maps with total impunity, and they wouldn't have lost the facility on LV-233.

There's this whole thing about different factions of Engineers and "wanting to save the plants," but I don't exactly buy it. I know there's probably a real world equivalent to this situation, but I'm not a scientist.

DeathWraith, Xenomorph, 10 years ago

Maybe they didn't even think about it. If their technology is sufficiently advanced, something like bombs could be considered obsolete and become forgotten. I mean I'm sure that if we could find a way kill each other without destroying architecture or the environment, we would eventually give up weapons of mass destruction in favour of those weapons that facilitate the takeover. Not having to rebuild and not losing valuable artifacts would significantly reduce the resources needed for winning a war and settling into the newly conquered area. So the Jockeys probably found this technology so long ago that the only bombs they have are in a museum and it doesn't even cross their mind to use something like that. I mean we don't even think about going fishing with spears now that we have huge fishing nets and fishing boats capable of carrying tonnes of fish at a time.

Deathdrop, Xenomorph, 10 years ago