Alien vs Predator - Universe
 News   Forum   RPG   Clans   Members   Encyclopedia   Movies   Games   Books   Comics   Artwork 
HomeEncyclopediaMoviesAlien › Comments

Movies

Alien

Comments

Abstained

Alex
Alex
2007-05-12 19:39:00

Many have tried and failed to repeat its success, but nothing can beat the masterpiece that is Alien. Unleashed at cinemas in 1979, the film is a flat-out classic sci-fi horror flick, using extreme moments of suspense to build up the scary scenes. Directed by Ridley Scott, the film is a ground-breaking classic that still holds up amazingly well today, and made an international superstar if Sigourney Weaver.

In Alien, the terror begins when the crew of the spaceship Nostromo are instructed to investigate a transmission from a desolate planet, as they are on their way back home to Earth. Upon their arrival, they make a horrifying discovery - a life form that attaches itself to the victims face, using it as a host before breeding inside the body. The life form then removes itself, waiting for the young it has planted inside the human victim to be born and explode through the stomach. A gruesome description indeed, which is why the film is so brilliant. The alien is now on board the spaceship after it exploded through the stomach of one of the spaceship's crew, all because the remaining crew foolishly let him back on board. It's now up to the crew to stop this alien menace, and fight not only for their own survival, but the survival of all mankind.

Sigourney Weaver stars as Ellen Ripley in her film debut role. Weaver is absolutely perfect for the role, and was practically the first girl-power type female heroine who single-handedly carries this international blockbuster right through until the final minutes. John Cane also plays Kurt to excellent effect, especially in his death scene as he frantically wriggles on the table with the alien inside him. Harry Dean Stanton is brilliant as Brett, as is Tom Skerritt as Dallas. Yaphet Kotto is also perfectly cast as Parker, who provides many on-screen laughs. Veronica Kartwright stars as the loveable Lambert, the only other female member of the crew along with Ripley. Ian Holm as Ash is absolutely brilliant in his role as the android secretly sent on board to bring back the alien life-form, while - in his eyes, and "Mother's" - all other crew members are expendable. The acting in this film is really first-rate, which is another big factor in why the film works so well.

Many scenes from Alien are classics, and are all equally scary. The first really scary scene we witness is when Kane investigates the egg in which the life-form is waiting to spring out onto his face. The noise it makes is enough to give anyone nightmares, and the deathly silence that proceeds after the event is truly eerie. The first extremely shocking scene we get is when the alien explodes from Kane's stomach. The noises it makes, and the screams of pain and terror from the crew members is most disturbing, rivalling anything previously set in horror films such as the scenes from The Exorcist. Ripley's confrontation with the robot Ash is truly terrifying. After she discovers exactly why he is on board and what the truth behind their the mission, he tries to kill her, by blocking all the exits in the spaceship. It's only when the remaining crew (those who haven't been killed off by the alien) come to her rescue that Ash reveals his true self, spinning around the room with white liquid exploding from every orifice. Before long, Ripley is the only surviving member of the crew. On her own, she proves herself to be a true action hero as she finally defeats the alien on board.

All in all, Alien is a terrific sci-fi horror movie that plays with your senses incredibly well. Nothing happens for the first 30 minutes, and that is exactly the director's intent. By doing so, a feeling of extreme suspense is instantly formed, leaving you on the edge of your seat until the very end. When you think of the film when not watching it, you'll think of the long corridors and the eerie silence that stalks them, as these are the scenes that you remember most vividly because of the suspense created.

I urge anyone who hasn't seen Alien to pick up a copy and watch it today, because you really are missing out on a landmark film that redefined the way people think of space, and the horror movie genre in general. As they say, "In Space, No One Can Hear You Scream."

Abstained

Blake Izer
Blake Izer
2007-05-12 19:39:33

One of the best Gothic scifi horrer of its time. althought Some people with bad taste said it was just friday the 13th in space. The movie wasnt nearly as bad as friday the 13th. The most famous scene of all was the chestburster. The people who watch the scene would be seen in the bathroom five minutes later and the people who closed there eyes probably lost sleep over it

Abstained

If i had to rate this movie out of 10 i'd give it a 5
Andy
2007-05-17 17:12:23

If i had to rate this movie out of 10 i'd give it a 5, it had the potential to be a great movie, but it didn't quite work for me. When me and my friends saw the movie, we were laughing, the chest burster scene was the best if you ask me but when the alien was out and sitting on the table it looked like plastic. but other then it was descent but the robot that got his head cut off... it was squrting out milk! if you were going to buy any alien movie i'd recommend AVP

Abstained

One the greatest movie in the world
alien man
2007-05-17 17:13:15

I just got to see the movie for my first time (i'm 12) and it is one the greatest movie in the world. It is not like other horers(pardon my spelling)where it's just any other day and something bad happens. This movie brings in jobs,mony an all other things like that. It was the scariest movie, as well as the best movie i've ever seen. The special effects weren't all that great, i'm used to 21st century graphics, but for it's time i can see. All in all it's one of the best movies ever

Abstained

This is my fav movie of the series
ethan
2007-05-17 17:13:56

This is my fav movie of the series. It's really good. I saw ALIENS first and I thought it was ALIEN that I saw, so when I rented this I was surprised by that it didn't have all of the machine guns and stuff from ALIENS. Then I realized they were different movies. It's really cool when Brett goes looking for Jonesy and the xenomorph soldier bites his face and then shoots that inner mouth/tongue thingy through his head. Also when Ripley is typing in the stuff in the keyboard and the walls move and the xenomorph soldier's hand comes out. I was so surprised that the walls were actually the xenomorph soldier. (They looked pretty weird though)

Abstained

The alien looks like a puppet
Predatorhero
2007-05-17 17:14:44

Its gd it grabs your attention very well but the only problem is the alien looks like a puppet and moves like one but it gives u a gd breifing on a alien and its blood type
by
Tom hughes [predator fan!]

5 Stars

The coolest of the series!
Will the Might
2007-06-14 09:22:12

The best one! Forget ALIENS and its guns! This is THE Alien film of the series and should be respeted. The alien costume is detailed and should not be laughed at! Besides it is FAR BETTER than the CGI aliens of ALIEN RESURRECTION

Abstained

Perfect Film
Killswitch
2007-06-15 09:06:27

Alien is a perfect film.

Maybe once in a decade a film is released that redefines its genre. It does something so new, so shocking, so ineffably divine that audiences are figuratively beaten into submission by its magnitude. Alien is one of these films. Ironically, Alien was released just two years after Star Wars, which, some may argue, was even more incremental in redefining the science fiction genre. Being released in the wake of a revolutionary film like Star Wars, audiences expected Alien to be a violent rip-off of the formula which proved to be magic.

What audiences expected and what they received were two entirely differently things--Alien really has nothing to do with Star Wars. Doubtless many classify Alien as strictly a science fiction film, but it is not that simple: Alien is primarily a horror film, and frequently an effective character study on a group of vastly interesting people. But what makes it one of the most important films in cinematic history is the simple fact that it flawlessly juggles these elements without once dropping a ball. Perfection can be defined by this.

Alien is one hour of buildup, and one hour of pulse-pounding, inescapable suspense. In the hour of buildup we meet the crew of the commercial towing vehicle Nostromo. To name a few, we have the skeptic Captain Dallas (Tom Skerritt), the by-the-book Lieutenant Ripley (Sigourney Weaver), and the macho and loud Parker (Yaphet Kotto). Each of the seven crew members are deep, well-written characters that we care about without question.

At the beginning of the film, they pick up a distress beacon in the middle of space, no where near Earth. They head towards the beacon, which turns out to originate on a desolate, uninhabited planet. They land and discover an alien spaceship; while investigating the ship, a creature attaches itself to the face of second-in-command Kane (John Hurt), who is knocked unconscious. Despite attempts to remove the creature, it remains on Kane. Soon, it comes off, having laid an egg in Kane's chest. In the classic scene, the Alien bursts from Kane. It then begins growing and picks of the crew members, one-by-one.

Director Ridley Scott's vision of these locations and people is fascinating and engrossing. The sets, all authentic and completely convincing, have a kind of ancient, dirty feel to them, though they are clearly futuristic. The music, by Jerry Goldsmith, is perfect in every way, with high-pitched squealing string instruments over deep, booming base sounds. The acting is all incredible, and with only seven characters, each actor is allowed a great deal of screen time.

The most important element of Alien, however, is the namesake. Designed by H.R. Giger, the Alien is a monster never imagined by anyone before. With its long, smooth, eyeless head, and its black, spiked tentacles flailing about wildly, it's truly the most frightening creature ever to be projected on the silver screen. Everything about its execution in this film is perfect--we only see it in flashes, for small fractions of seconds, and, even by the end of the film, we're not totally sure what it looks like. It moves silently, and is never seen until it's about to kill. It's a creature whose appearance is not only formidable, but conceptually frightening as well. It's a monster designed only to kill, and it's not bogged down by moral and ethical standards. That scares us, because we can't bargain with it. We can't make a deal. If it's there, that's it. We're dead.

A group of cinematic geniuses worked together to bring us Alien. The film making is brilliant. The acting is flawless. Every technical aspect of the film proves to be without shortcomings. But, it's not just a study in cinema: it's a perfect example of pure, raw fear. Not just any creature can scare people into a frenzy. It is a film that has redefined both the horror and science fiction genres, and is a film that has been and always will be copied and coveted by film makers. That, my friends, is why Alien is perfect.

Abstained

By far the most impressive Scif-Fi film for its time..
scifiguy
2007-08-25 16:48:12

I will not ramble on about the undeniable qualities about this film..I beleive I speak for everyone when i say this film is in a class all by itself.

5 Stars

Awesome
LoneClaw66
2007-10-07 12:15:04

It was a spine chilling movie with suspense and action.I would give it a 10/10.

5 Stars

This Movie Is amazing
The Drizzle
2007-12-26 20:02:00

This is by far one of the best scifi movies i have ever seen. The Best scence is when you first see the alien come out of the chest. It came out of know where thats why its so scary.

5 Stars

A really great series
TheDrizzle1212
2007-12-30 21:34:08

This movie was so great i could not explain in words how good it is. I think that aliens was also a great movie it really expaned the series with all the cool action secens with the aliens get mowed down by the marines. Its really hard to compare the two because they are very differnt alien was meant to be suspenseful and aliens was meant to be more of an action movie. But they are both great and i definatly reccomed the both of them.

3 Stars

In space, nobody can hear you scream
Mr. Loco
2009-12-27 20:43:08

This movie might be considered a classic, but honestly it's just to slow for me. It's not really that scary either. I loved it when I was younger, but now that I'm older I feel it's actually the most boring one in the series. It does have great actors and great direction, so I can't say anything bad about the movie, cuz honestly it is a masterpiece, but it's a slow one and therefor I can only give it 3 stars out of 5.

5 Stars

alien
taylor.ackerer
2010-03-19 10:14:21

I've seen all of the movies and played almost all the games. But i'de say that this is the best movie of all the movies!

5 Stars

Best movie of 20th century and it's still one of the best!
alienpred1
2008-02-16 15:54:30

This movie is the best in the Alien Saga. You have to watch this if you want to understand the whole saga. One of the best movies ever made and probably one of the best that will be ever made.

5 Stars

Alien
movie
2009-04-17 09:58:46

The best science fiction movie ever made. No other is better than this. This is as good as it gets!

5 Stars

Alien was amazing
Ravagers
2012-06-24 19:02:00

Anyone who thought the first movie was anything lower than a 4, really has no taste in good movies

5 Stars

:3 lol
PredalienRules
2012-07-13 10:49:12

FACT TAKING UP SPACE TIME!(About the Queen) Queen Aliens are significantly larger and stronger than the normal adults, approximately 4.5 metres (15 ft) tall. Their body structure differs also, having two pairs of arms, one large and one small. The queen\\\'s head is larger than other adult Aliens and is protected by a large, flat crest, like a crown, and they vary from queen to queen. In the second film Aliens, unlike other adults and queens, the queen had high-heel protrusions from its feet.

Egg-laying Alien queens possess an immense ovipositor attached to their lower torso, similar to a queen termite\\\'s. Unlike insect queens, there appears to be no need for drones to fertilize an Alien queen\\\'s eggs. When attached to its ovipositor, the queen is supported by a \\\"biomechanical throne\\\" that consists of a lattice of struts resembling massive insect legs.

In the original cut of Alien, the Alien possessed a complete lifecycle, with the still-living bodies of its victims converted into eggs. However, the scene showing the crew converted into eggs was cut for reasons of pacing, leaving the ultimate origin of the eggs obscure. This allowed Aliens director James Cameron to introduce a concept he had initially conceived for a spec script called Mother, a massive mother Alien which laid the eggs and formed the basis for the Aliens\\\' life cycle. Cameron conceived the Queen as a monstrous analogue to Ripley\\\'s own maternal role in the film. In that vein, some critics have compared it to Grendel\\\'s mother.

The design of the queen was created by Cameron in collaboration with special effects artist Stan Winston, based upon an initial painting Cameron had done at the start of the project. The Winston Studio created a test foam core queen before constructing the full hydraulic puppet which was used for most of the scenes involving the large Alien. Two people were inside working the twin sets of arms and puppeteers off-screen worked its jaws and head. Although at the end of the film the queen was presented full-body fighting the power-loader, the audience never sees the legs of the queen, save those of the small-scale puppet that appears only briefly. In Aliens, Cameron used very selective camera-angles on the queen, using the \\\'less is more\\\' style of photography. Subsequently the movie won an Oscar for Visual Effects.[30] An adult queen was to reappear in Alien Resurrection. The original mechanical head previously used in Aliens was provided by Bob Burns, and was an altered design. It was repainted with a blend of green and brown, giving it a shimmering, insect-like quality.[18] This color concept would be abandoned in Alien versus Predator in favour of the original black color scheme.

In the climax of the 2004 film Alien vs. Predator the queen\\\'s basic design was altered to make it more \\\"streamlined\\\" in appearance and its over-all size was increased to 6 meters (20 feet) tall. Other changes include the removal of the \\\"high-heel\\\" protrusions on its legs, including additional spines on its head and making its waist thinner because there was no need for puppeteers inside its chest. The animatronic laying queen had 47 points of hydraulic motion.

Aliens vs. Predator: Requiem (2007) introduced a younger form of the full grown queen, albeit with traits inherited from its Predator host. Recalling the facehugger\\\'s method of embryo implantation, the Predalien uses its inner mouth to directly deposit multiple chestburster embryos into pregnant female hosts, also using its mandibles to latch on the faces of said hosts. This is explained by the Brothers Strause as a means of quickly building an army of Aliens before the young queen evolves into its sedentary, egg-laying state.



:3

2 Stars

Overrated
MS
2011-11-05 18:10:12

Meh, take out the undeniably awesome chestburster scene, and do you still have a 'classic'...?

[ Submit a Comment ]

Alien Vs Predator Movies

dish network saint francis kansas
Guest
Like AvP Universe
Become a fan on
Facebook
Follow us on
Twitter
Movies
Alien vs Predator
AvP : Requiem
Games
Aliens vs Predator
Aliens vs Predator 2
AvP : Extinction
Aliens vs Predator 3
Books
Comics
Movies
Alien
Aliens
Alien³
Alien Resurrection
Prometheus
Games
Alien Trilogy
Colonial Marines
Books
Comics
Movies
Predator
Predator 2
Predators
Games
Predator : CJ
Books
Comics
Link to Us
Contact
:: Associates ::
AvP Unknown
Planete Alien
Prometheus-Movie
The Alien vs Predator - Universe website doesn't own or represent any of the trademarks.
Alien vs Predator, Alien, Predator and all related marks are trademarks of 20th Century Fox or of any of its corporations.
All trademarks and copyrights are owned by their respective owners