Alien vs Predator - Universe
 News   Forum   RPG   Clans   Members   Encyclopedia   Movies   Games   Books   Comics   Artwork 
HomeEncyclopediaGamesPredator: Concrete Jungle › Comments

Games

Predator: Concrete Jungle

Comments

4 Stars

What it's all about
Justin Germond
2007-05-03 16:48:19

Pretty much the best Predator game I've ever played, and might I say it also gives you the full experience as you travel a storyline with quite a few twists. I think the best part about it is that the predator actually wins in this story. The main concern of the game involves the main character leaving behind several weapons when trying to flee from a situation and ends up being banished on a hostile world for 100 years by his own clan members. He is brought back to find that the humans have dissected his hunting tools and are now using them against any predators who dare to hunt on Earth. All of this resides in a city called Neonapolis, and it is ruled by a dynasty of crime. You fight your way through tough gangs and companies that use your technology, and must retake everything to restore your honor. The end result is taking on the Borgia family. Enjoy.

4 Stars

Predator: Concrete Jungle
Darthvegeta800
2007-05-05 12:38:11

Basically Predator is a terrific game with a slight downside.
The story is excellent and surprising with a few good plottwists near the end.
The missions and bonusmissions are diverse and frequently quite creative.
As for the Predator feel:
The cloak has been executed perfectly even taking into account the fact that water is the bane of this tech. However the stealth part of the game though present quite strongly (not being noticed too much is important) has not been executed perfectly and is in fact sometimes frustrating.
When it comes to acrobatics and actions the Predator can perform many well animated feats in diverse ways from grabbing, throwing people to performing a variation of stealth kills, combatcombo's, jumps, 'hopping' moves, different ways of climbing etc... .
Weapon/itemwise everything one could wish for is there.
Plasmacaster, Glaive, Speargun, Combistick, Diskweapon, Claws, explosives, medicomp etc... .
Only downside is the recharging though well done can still be a bit silly seeing how 'draining' the cloak can be for your char.
The weapons have upgrades, plenty of different appearances to unlock (mostly from the movies and new ones).
There are plenty of extra missions and secrets that enable one to unlock these extras.
Bossfights, trophygathering etc are strongly present but quite scripted.
Visually and sound-wise the familiar Predator sounds, techviews etc are present.
The games overall graphics are neither bad nor superb but more than good enough and the game manages to capture the feel of the 'honorable hunter' stalking it's prey through many cutscenes, good plot and the way the char can crouch, lie in wait, moves, zooms in with it's mask, changes visionmodes etc.

The downside is basically it's gameplay. It takes quite a while to get used to and it was only when playing the game a second time I truly 'mastered' it as during the first run many mistakes were made.
It is the depth and the many options that make the Predator sometimes unwielding in the first run.
However by the second time one can easily take out bosses without ever being hit and the hunt becomes all the more enjoyable.
Some parts in the game can be quite difficult too especially if one also wishes to collect the additional weapons and bonusses.

All in all it's a very good game with a rather lengthy learningcurve.
Good plot, plenty of options and extra's make it one of the best games in the AVP franchise.

Abstained

Hieros
Hieros
2007-05-12 20:09:16

There have been a few Alien Vs. Predator games, most of them not very good. Predator: Concrete Jungle, however, delivers. The entire game is told in retrospect of a mysterious woman, who you eventually meet near the end of the game. The game starts you off at the end of your 1930 escapade as a young Predator after the proverbial shit hit the fan. The first level has you running and jumping through a war between the Irish gangsters and the Police. Needless to say, you don't make it to your ship. After demolishing the city known as New Way City with the nuclear device on your ship, and surviving, the rest of your clan comes to collect you and sentence you to a 100-year term on a planet infested with creatures looking suspiciously like the creatures from Pitch Black. After the 100 years is up, your clan returns to have your right your wrongs. In your haste, you left your mask and several weapons in the city for humans to dissect and improve upon. When the next Predator contingent went to hunt on Earth in the year 2030, they were captured by the superior weaponry of a company called Borgia Industries. To make a long story short, you must kill them all to reclaim your honor and the technology of your Clan.

Now, for the gameplay. There are 27 levels with 6 alternate costumes (one from both Predators 1 & 2 and one from the hero of AvP) and 3 other custom made Predator suits (they all look very nifty), and 26 upgrades scattered throughout the levels. In addition to the levels there are also 8 Ritual Challenges which have you running around a map collecting waypoints on a timer. Most of the levels are straight-forward "kill them all" but there is one stealth mission and a few other types that are all a nice diversion from the gruesome ways to kill people. There are 7 weapons, Combistick, Glaive, Smart Disc, Plasmacaster, Wristblades, Maul, and Speargun, all with 2 upgrades - Ritual and Clan,in addition to several types of mines. There is lots of ways to kill people including assasination, grappling and impaling. Assasination has you sneak up behind a person and do one of several things including: slit throat, rip off head, chop off head, rip in Half, and cut in half. Grappling is grabbing hold of someone by the head and either throwing them, kicking them or just killing them. With the Combistick, Glaive or Maul you can impale someone and throw them into the air then hit them again. If up and close isn't your style then you can snipe with either the shoulder mounted Plasmacaster or, my favorite weapon, the Speargun which can nail enemies to walls.

The only thing I see wrong with this game is that I would like to see the Predator battling something other than humans and Xenoaliens. The gameplay and storyline are top-notch, especially since the storyline, although confusing at times, offers an inside look at the Predator Clan that the movies do not offer. For Predator fans and ultra-violent junkies, this game is definately a must. If you are not an ultra-violence fan or a Predator fan, you may not like this game.

Abstained

inferno
inferno
2007-05-12 20:09:39

This game is really fun. I dont really think the camera controls are sloppy. The graphics are good, but i think there should be more weapons.

9/10 on the good side there are hard bosses and alot of missions.On the negative side its not multiplayer nor are there alot of weapons but the uprades replace that. The story: you are a predator who is on a hunt to regain your honor on the way you will have to kill boses such as el hongo, hunter, long spear, swift knife, MOTHER, and a lot of thugs but if you get tired of them oh well you fight aliens in 10.0 and 10.1 aside from that its a great game and has a pretty good story to it.RITUAL CHALLENGES:there are eight of them and some are easy while some are just plain hard. I recomend for predator fans gory games fans and anyone who seen one of the movies.

Abstained

they should make predator concrete jungle 2
tyler
2007-05-20 18:55:37

they should make predator concrete jungle 2 because the first was awesome but you sould be able to pick a sertant mask,armor and body such as no hair or have hair and skin color like If you wanted It darker or lighter.

Abstained

the grafics are arsome
zox
2007-05-20 18:56:17

the grafics are arsome but they should make a game where you can make your own armour and do no missons

Abstained

Everything in this game is killer
steve
2007-05-20 18:57:07

What more can I say about this game that the other guys haven't said already? This game delivers. It's not just the graphics or the gadgetry or the weapons or the storyline or the... wait... what am I saying. Yes, it's all that and more. Everything in this game is killer (and I do mean that) after learning all their is to know from the three training missions the game is all out predator frenzy my friend. Don't think this is the jungle with a guy named Mack chasing you singing "I'm gonna have me some fun." Don't think this is a city with Danny Glover on your tail - no, no. This is the future baby and all bets are off as you go against some of your own technology. No easy pickin' hear. Overall - A+ Now if only they could make AVP: Extinction as good as this. Or at least a sequal as good as this.
-S

Abstained

This could be the greatest alien/predator game in stores
Dark Blade
2007-05-20 18:57:57

O.k here is what gose down ,your the predator and your mission regain your honner. The time line of the story is 1930 to 2030.You discover that the narrator has ties to the predator.Graphics are great and 3rd to 1st person gameplay is awsome.The levels and landscape is better than the AvP games. And you use weapens seen in the predator movies.The boss fights are great. This could be the greatest alien/predator game in stores.

Abstained

you kill bosses, police, gangs and Aliens
JIM*
2007-05-20 18:58:37

If you are a predator fan buy the game it has a great storylineand cool weapons.
you kill bosses, police, gangs and Aliens.

Abstained

predator concrete jungle is an excellent game
deen
2007-05-20 18:59:32

Others have tried to make predator and alien vs predator games but all have failed until now, predator concrete jungle is an excellent game there are no flaws, this game is set from the perspective of the predator and allows you to hunt skin and kill humans, aliens (the same ones that are in the alien movies)and even predators and u even get to fight an advanced predator overall on a scale of one to 10 this game gets 9

Abstained

REPETETIVE is the word i mean...
Jake
2007-05-20 19:00:18

Well youd think that one of the best movies ever would give an amazing game
But your wrong
No arnie
No Jungle
No...
Instead your given a young predator with a quest to regain his honour so hense you must kill a gazillion dudes
But after the nifty first lvl things get a bit shit

REPETETIVE is the word i mean...
WOw go kill that guy
now go kill that dude...
and with a claustrophobic camera that cant do a damn thing and the zooming features that are useless....
Yeah all the predator stuff is there but its poorly used for instance the cloak is just window dressing
This game is...alright
makes you wish you were the hunted rather than the hunter

Abstained

one of the most fun, violent games
prdtr_fan
2007-05-20 19:00:55

this is one of the most fun, violent games that i have ever seen. the level of pure violence and destruction completely makes up for the somewhat strange camera controls.
this game also has an insane level of difficulty, even on the easiest setting it is extremely hard so unless you are going to commit a long ammount of time to beating this game

Abstained

I nearly died at the excitement of this game
Dutch
2007-05-20 19:01:55

I nearly died at the excitement of this game 10/10 make a alien one as well and avp will be top notch

Abstained

You have a variety of weapons to choose from
GREAT DIVINER
2007-05-20 19:02:32

The game is great. You have a variety of weapons to choose from like plasma caster, smart disc, Glave, Spear, spear gun, sonic trap, fire bomb, plasma mine etc.

The thing I loved about the game was that you collect heads as trophies.

Player can unlock almost 6 different types of costumes for predator including the city hunter(predator 2), Alien hunter(AVP movie).

Abstained

i hope there will be a sequel
jono
2007-05-20 19:03:06

I really enjoyed this game from start to finish and it didnt deserve the critisim it got. sure the camera angle isnt perfect but name a game that has a perfect camera angle.a really good game and i hope there will be a sequel.

Abstained

it's one of my all-time favorites
Joe
2007-05-20 19:03:32

i LOVE this game. it's one of my all-time favorites. the storyline is great, the weapons are amazing, and the different ways to kill people is phenomenal. the controls do take some getting used to and they should have given the option to have inverted controls or not, but other than that, the game is great. well...there are a couple levels that i find VERY, VERY HARD, even on medium difficulty, but that's not that big of a deal...it's not supposed to be a walk in the park. overall, the game is WONDERFUL and, in my opinion, one of the BEST EVER.

Abstained

at last a predator only game
predator
2007-05-20 19:04:00

at last a predator only game for the ps2 and xbox. this game has cool animetions and cutscense. the story is cool so is the actual gameplay.but the missons can get a little frustrating.love the unlockables and the levels. waiting for another

Abstained

It is awesome
Preda-Hog
2007-05-20 19:04:32

Loved this game.It was one of my favorite games.It is awesome.

Abstained

The graphics are wonderful
Outika
2007-05-20 19:05:11

Predator Concrete Jungle in my opinion is a 10/10 game.

Graphics:

The graphics are wonderful. Providing an extrememly detailed predator character as well as many other unique looking side chars. (Of course though, the back ground people all look the same, but your usually too busy to really examine them.) There's lots of blood, lots of fire and lots of explosions, all of which dont look like someone took a bucket of a color and splashed it on the scene saying, "thats good enough." The landscape is huge. It was big enough for me to easily get confused and loose myself...but thats me, I'mma wierdo. XP

Combat:

When fighting you have a multitude of ways to kill/maim your enemies. Assasinations, graples, snipes and just plain kickin' butt. I never got board doing up close battles, because the game made it hard enough to keep you on your toes. If you get seen too much you could get a game over! But I usually just ignored that little detail, I was too dazzled by all the gore on the screen. :)

Equip:

Maul, combistick, wristblades, speargun, photonic blaster, mines, mask and so much more! Each has its own upgrades and special features to it. My two favs were the maul/wristblade combo and the mask. Your mask has four different settings in which to help you in your missions. And the maul/wristblade combo...you gotta find that one out for yourself.

Sidequests/trophies:

When you defeate a boss or find a particularly interesting person to kill, you get to make a trophy of them like in the movies!! x) After collecting so much trophies you can unlock wicked costumes to pimp out your char.

Plus at the beginning you have three different difficulty settings to play. That way this game can never be too easy.

Overall this game is complicated and if you dont pay attention to what your doing, you can easily get killed. Thats what I like about it. It gives you a challenge that other games just dont provide.

Ooh...I have to urge to play this game again...

Abstained

this gamed rocked
the_predalien99
2007-05-20 19:05:46

this gamed rocked if you`r wanting a new game for ps2 or xbox this the way to go! the way you can almost run freely as a predator, skining humans. getting new suits to run around, im not going to give away to much, but you might just see aliens this game! but you alien fans watch out you kill aliens, sweet huh?! so if you have about twenty bucks then go to ebgames, gamecrazy wherever and buy predator concrete jungle!!!!!!!!!

p.s. you might just want to rent it, but honestly, just the game because this games hard to find(rent and buy)

[ Submit a Comment ]

Alien Books

dish network nickerson kansas
Functional Medicine
Guest
Like AvP Universe
Become a fan on
Facebook
Follow us on
Twitter
Movies
Alien vs Predator
AvP : Requiem
Games
Aliens vs Predator
Aliens vs Predator 2
AvP : Extinction
Aliens vs Predator 3
Books
Comics
Movies
Alien
Aliens
Alien³
Alien Resurrection
Prometheus
Games
Alien Trilogy
Colonial Marines
Books
Comics
Movies
Predator
Predator 2
Predators
Games
Predator : CJ
Books
Comics
Link to Us
Contact
:: Associates ::
AvP Unknown
Planete Alien
Prometheus-Movie
The Alien vs Predator - Universe website doesn't own or represent any of the trademarks.
Alien vs Predator, Alien, Predator and all related marks are trademarks of 20th Century Fox or of any of its corporations.
All trademarks and copyrights are owned by their respective owners